Thursday 29 March 2018
Last day of Term Two

Tuesday 03 April to Friday 13 April 2018
School closed: spring vacation

Monday 16 April 2018
First day of Term Three

Friday 29 June 2018
Last day of Term Three

Wednesday 29 August 2018
First day of Term One

Friday 24 August 2018
New Student and Parent Orientation

Wednesday 29 August 2018
First day of Term 1

Monday 10 September 2018
School closed: Staff professional development day

Tuesday 11 – Friday 14 September 2018
Halcyon residential trips

Wednesday 19 September 2018
School closed: Staff professional development day

Monday 22 – Friday 26 October 2018
School closed for half-term

Wednesday 7 November 2018
No afternoon classes. Staff professional development half-day.

Friday 14 December 2018
Last day of Term 1

Monday 17 December 2018 – Friday 04 January 2019
School closed for winter vacation

Monday 07 January 2019
First day of Term 2

Thursday 24 January 2019
No afternoon classes. Staff professional development half-day.

Monday 18 – Friday 22 February 2019
School closed for half term

Monday 18 March 2019
No afternoon classes. Staff professional development half-day.

Friday 12 April 2019
Last day of Term 2

Monday 15 April  – Friday 26 April 2019
School closed for spring vacation

Monday 29 April 2019
First day of Term 3

Monday 06 May 2019
School closed for public holiday

Monday 27 May 2019
School closed for public holiday

Friday 31 May 2019
No afternoon classes. Staff professional development half-day.

Friday 28 June 2019
Last day of Term 3

Wednesday 28 August 2019
First day of Term 1, 2019/20

Our Admissions Process

How to apply to Halcyon

It’s as easy as 1 – 2 – 3.

Our application process reflects our school. It is holistic, personal, and intentional. Through this process, we aim to learn if the applicant is well suited to strive toward their unique potential at Halcyon and if Halcyon fits well with the student’s and family’s educational goals.

Halcyon has a rolling admissions process, meaning there is no deadline. However, we encourage families to apply as soon as possible as grades/year groups fill up quickly. The process consists of three stages.


There is no entrance exam for general applications to Halcyon. We are interested to know how a child can demonstrate their learning every day rather than what can be shown in one hour. Therefore, we review a range of documents offering different perspectives and spend time with both parents and applicant in an informal interview to assess if Halcyon and student/family are the right fit. Our priority is for each student to thrive in our school by providing an education that challenges and inspires.

Who should apply?

Halcyon provides an exceptional learning environment for students who have the self-discipline, a positive attitude and the aptitude to thrive academically in the rigorous IB Middle Years and Diploma Programmes. Our students have the opportunity to develop the necessary academic proficiencies and life-readying skills to be inquisitive and collaborative learners. Halcyon students strive to be engaged and open-minded global citizens.

Halcyon’s general criteria for applicants:

  • strong academic performance  
  • a positive, independent, and a strong work ethic
  • a desire to be collaborative and internationally-minded
  • self-discipline and an ability to engage meaningfully in independent inquiry
  • personal engagement with community activities
  • and an appreciation of the value of learning additional languages

We look forward to receiving your application. Should you have any queries about the admissions eligibility or criteria, please don’t hesitate to contact the Admissions Director, call or email us via the Contact page, or read more in the Admissions Handbook below.

Before you apply we encourage you to become familiar with our Curriculum featuring the IB Middle Years Programme and Diploma Programme and Halcyon’s unique beyond the IB curriculum features that ensure a holistic approach to a life-readying education.

Bursaries

Halcyon offers generous means-tested bursaries for school fees to deserving, academically strong students. Please email the Admissions Director for further information.

Admissions Handbook

Please read this information before applying

Katy WrenchAdmissions