Friday 14 December 2018
Last day of Term 1

Monday 17 December 2018 – Friday 04 January 2019
School closed for winter vacation

Monday 07 January 2019
First day of Term 2

Thursday 24 January 2019
No afternoon classes. Staff professional development half-day.

Monday 18 – Friday 22 February 2019
School closed for half term

Monday 18 March 2019
No afternoon classes. Staff professional development half-day.

Friday 12 April 2019
Last day of Term 2

Monday 15 April  – Friday 26 April 2019
School closed for spring vacation

Monday 29 April 2019
First day of Term 3

Monday 06 May 2019
School closed for public holiday

Monday 27 May 2019
School closed for public holiday

Friday 31 May 2019
No afternoon classes. Staff professional development half-day.

Friday 28 June 2019
Last day of Term 3

Wednesday 28 August 2019
First day of Term 1, 2019/20

Wednesday 28 August 2019
First day of Term 1

Monday 30 September 2019
Staff Professional Development Day – School is closed

Wednesday 9 October 2019
Staff Professional Development Day – School is closed

Monday 14 October 2019
Community Day – Students on field trips in London for the day

Monday 21 – Friday 25 October 2019
School Closed – October Half-term

December 16 – January 3 2020
School Closed – Winter Break

Monday 6 January 2020
First day of Term 2

Monday 17 – Friday 21 February 2020
School Closed – February Half-term

Monday 6 – Friday 17 April 2020
School Closed – Spring Break

Monday 20 April 2020
First day of Term 3

Monday 4 May 2020
School closed for public holiday

Monday 25 May 2020
School closed for public holiday

Friday 29 May 2020
Community Day – Students on field trips in London for the day

Friday 26 June
Last day of term

Tuesday 1 September
First day of term 2020/21

Admissions at Halcyon

Holistic, personal, intentional

Our application process reflects our school. Through this process, we aim to learn if the applicant is well suited to strive toward their unique potential at Halcyon and if Halcyon fits well with the student’s and family’s educational goals.

Halcyon has a rolling admissions process, meaning there is no deadline. However, we process applications in the order in which they are received. Due to the limited number of places we encourage families to apply as soon as possible as grades/year groups fill up quickly.

There is no entrance exam for general applications to Halcyon. We are interested to know how a child can demonstrate their learning every day rather than what can be shown in one hour. Therefore, we review a range of documents offering different perspectives and spend time with both parents and applicant in an informal interview to assess if Halcyon and student/family are the right fit. Our priority is for each student to thrive in our school by providing an education that challenges and inspires.

Visit us for an Open House event

Visit us

Apply to Halcyon

Apply

Find the answers

FAQs

Learn about our fees

Fees

Who should apply?

Halcyon provides an exceptional learning environment for students who have the self-discipline, a positive attitude and the aptitude to thrive academically in the rigorous IB Middle Years and Diploma Programmes. Our students have the opportunity to develop the necessary academic proficiencies and life-readying skills to be inquisitive and collaborative learners. Halcyon students strive to be engaged and open-minded global citizens.

Halcyon’s criteria for applicants:

  • strong academic performance  
  • a positive, independent, and a strong work ethic
  • a desire to be collaborative and internationally-minded
  • self-discipline and an ability to engage meaningfully in an independent inquiry
  • personal engagement with community activities
  • and an appreciation of the value of learning additional languages

Halcyon reserves the right not to admit a) applicants who would not have sufficient access to learning unless Halcyon were to make a significant modification to the curriculum b) applicants who have educational needs or disabilities that require services not available at Halcyon.

We look forward to receiving your application. Should you have any queries about the admissions eligibility or criteria, please don’t hesitate to contact the Admissions Director, call or email us via the Contact page, or read more in the Admissions Handbook below.


Our Admissions Process

How to apply to Halcyon

Before you apply we encourage you to become familiar with our Curriculum featuring the IB Middle Years Programme and Diploma Programme and Halcyon’s unique beyond the IB curriculum features that ensure a holistic approach to a life-readying education.

Bursaries

Halcyon offers generous means-tested bursaries for school fees to deserving, academically strong students. Please contact the Admissions Director to express interest in applying for a bursary prior to beginning the application process. 

Read our Bursary Policy

ADMISSIONS ENQUIRIES +44 (0)20 7258 7785

EMAIL ADMISSIONS JOIN@HALCYONSCHOOL.COM

Admissions Handbook

Please read this information before applying

HalcyonAdmissions